Vol 12.10 The Southern Combination Cup

Non-Hampton & Richmond Borough related posts.
Post Reply
Posts: 266
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2021 3:59 pm


Things you may not know, or didn’t know you knew!

Most Cup Wins – Beavers!

In this centenary season a look back to our successful Southern Combination Cup campaigns.

The Southern Combination Challenge Cup Competition (to give it its full name) was originally founded in March 1958. The competition was originally set up to be played by clubs within 25 miles of Kingston-upon-Thames (amended in 1998 to within 25 miles of Weybridge).

It was an independent cup competition, but was affiliated to the Football Association (after 2015 it came under the direction of the Surrey FA). The tournament was run by a small competition committee – for many years our late Club President, Alan Simpson, was also President of the competition. Currently the cup is organised by the Combined Counties League as a ‘supplementary cup competition’ and is mainly competed for by teams from that league.

Hampton is first recorded taking part in 1963/64 losing 2-1 at Molesey in the first round. The following season a 3-2 win at Chalfont St Peters in the first round, however there is no mention of any further matches, similarly in 1964/65 there is no mention of the club competing. Being a low-level competition, a lack of results is unsurprising. In 1966/67 the Beavers lose 2-0 at home to Marlow, but things improve in 1967/68 as the club reach the semi-final but exit at the hands of Staines Town after a replay.

The first final is achieved the following seasons, and Aldershot Town are beaten, at Beveree, 4-3 (having gained revenge over Staines Town by a score of 5-0 in the semi-final).

In terms of winning the trophy, Hampton have won it the most times, notching up 8 victories, including the aforementioned game against Aldershot Services. Those winning performances came against…

1971/72 Woking, 5-1 at Beveree*
1976/77 Farnborough Town, 3-1 at Beveree
1981/82 @ Maidenhead United, 3-1*
1983/84 Egham Town, 1-0 at Beveree*
1985/86 Camberley Town, 3-0 at Beveree*
1996/97 @ Staines Town, 2-1 @ Staines, after extra time
2005/06 Trophy shared with Walton & Hersham

• Finals held over to the following season.

There were a number of losing finals along the way, especially a 7-2 loss at home to Epsom & Ewell in 1979/80. It is also quite possible that the club might have an even better record, however, between 1987/88 and 1992/93 they didn’t enter. Neither between 2001/02 & 2002/03 or since 2005/06. The reasons being due to fixture congestion and also the rise in seniority of the club making it no longer an attractive competition to take part in.

The last occasion the club actually won the trophy on the pitch was 7th May 1997, a 2-1 win after extra time at Wheatsheaf Park. The line-up was..

Mark Russell; Warren Drew, Danny Collyer, Bradley Pratt, Steve Cheshire (Darren Powell), Kevin Duffell, Craig Reilly, Robin Lewis, Francis Vines, Derek Bryan (Roy Jellow), Barry Moore. Shaun Mitchell, sub not used.
Scorers were Lewis & Vines, attendance, 150.

I seem to recall that Matt Lovett was in the opposition goal!

The Old Historian
Post Reply